Finger Food Mania!

Our twins have always been fantastic eaters. Starting with super watery oatmeal and avocado at just 5 months old working their way up to purees with chunks of beans and rice, there was really no vegetable they turned their nose up too and we are still going strong with not giving them fruit! But a few weeks ago I started noticing their frustration with being spoon fed. They wanted to do it themselves! They were also getting really impatient in between bites of the purees which signaled to me that it might be time to try incorporating finger foods. Well, once they tried that, they were hooked! It’s all they wanted to do! Which is great for me not having to spoon feed two babies at the same time anymore but also to get them confident to feed themselves and getting more substantial foods. With that comes its own challenges though! Food prep for purees was SO easy. Every Sunday I would steam a whole bunch of veggies, puree them, store them in the fridge and mix them up for them (they even ate them cold sometimes) for each meal. Now it’s all complicated! I feel like my newest job title is chef! This week (first full week of finger foods) I made them mini egg muffins with spinach&cheese and oatmeal peanut butter balls to alternate for breakfast foods. Then I made potato and parmesan (also with spinach) tots, carrot and zucchini quinoa cakes, homemade fish sticks, sweet potato pancakes, and then just some ground turkey with garlic 🙂 phew! It was hot, it was messy, it took forever but it’s worth it to be able to give them whole fresh foods!

Now, obviously there are the easier choices, which I am also prone to do (I am NOT super woman after all!) 🙂 like: sweet potato wedges, butternut squash cubes, eggplant slices, cut up steamed carrots, whole peas and edamame, but sometimes it’s nice to have a little more substance than just the plain veggie. We have also starting incorporating some spice into their life (as if they weren’t spicy enough as is!) haha 😉 and they seem to be enjoying the different flavors!

Next step…we are slowly making the switch over to milk! Bye-Bye (or should I say hello!) $350 a month! We are doing that by adding an ounce to their formula every couple of days until it is fully milk and out of a sippy cup! I can’t even believe we are at that stage already..I never thought this day would come. Sometimes I don’t know if I’m ready for all these changes and all this growing up but it doesn’t seem to stop them!

Please comment below if you would like me to post any of the recipes that I mentioned I made for them. They are all quite delicious!

One thought on “Finger Food Mania!

Leave a Reply

