Homemade Almond Milk

For my dairy free moms (which seems to be more and more of common thing these days!) I came across a recipe for homemade almond milk, which I enjoy, even though I am not dairy free, to use in shakes, with cereal, etc. I get the unsweetened kind since milk naturally has a good amount of sugar, it makes me feel better about that aspect! This recipe does call for honey and vanilla so adds a little sweetness, but I’m sure it would be just as good without (although I would recommend at least adding a good local honey because it can do wonders for your health- and even help with allergies!)

So you would start by soaking 2 cups of raw almonds in 6 cups of water overnight in a covered bowl (try buying in bulk at nuts.com- much cheaper than the store!) Then combine the soaking liquid and nuts with a quarter cup of honey and a half teaspoon vanilla extract and salt (I use the pink Himalayan salt) and process until smooth in a high power blender (the baby bullet works great for this!) Once smooth, strain into a container though a cheesecloth, squeezing to remove as much liquid as possible, followed by refrigerating it. It should make about 5 cups.

Enjoy and let me know what you think in the comments below!!

Leave a Reply

