My first mothers day

I have always loved this holiday, mostly because I have the best mother ever, and celebrating her has always been one of my favorite things to do! But I also just like the fact that mothers get acknowledged and really given the chance to do whatever they wish (which really should happen more, but we’ll take one specific day a year!) 🙂 because of how hard of a job it really is. I never understood just how hard of a job it was until I became one myself and for that, I can really never thank my mother enough!!

This year, I didn’t really think much about what I wanted to do because we had plans to be at my nieces college graduation (yes, I’m that old!) haha and were planning on being away.
But because the boys had their first ear infections that week and were on antibiotics, we chose to not travel with them. So because of that, my husband had a really hard time finding anywhere decent around us for brunch reservations and felt really bad about it. I was actually totally fine with it! I asked him to please not buy me anything but instead just change all the diapers and do all the dishes from the day! Not only did he do that, he also made me my favorite breakfast (eggs Benedict- homemade hollandaise and all!)

(minus the english muffin but still yummy!)

…prepared the sweetest bath ever (while he fed the babies breakfast!)

and pretty much did everything the rest of the day while I laid around reading magazines and just watching my boys playing happily. It was raining all day so didn’t miss being outside, and really just took advantage of doing nothing, which is really underrated!! So, basically the best day ever 🙂 He even got them dressed up for me!

I have to say, some women think that being showered with gifts and being away from their kids is the way to go on mothers day, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that! But this day was exactly what I would have wanted if I was planning for it, so sometimes last minute changes in plans end up making wonderful memories!

I hope everyone had a fantastic mothers day! ♥

3 thoughts on “My first mothers day

  1. Deb says:

    Sounds like the perfect Mothers Day and you most definitely deserved all the love and attention! Those two are the most precious boys EVER and you post the happiest of pictures of them! They make me smile. I love you and can’t wait to meet Mason and Sawyer 😘😘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

